Photography Assistant – Stephen Perry

On Saturday the 22nd I was given the opportunity to assist Stephen Perry on a photo shoot he was involved with. I jumped at the chance having been a big fan of Stephen’s work for a long time.

I got to London Waterloo at just gone 9 and met Stephen. He was very charismatic and made me feel relaxed instantly building a rapport from the start. The shoot was based around various characters from film and music vying for the attention and admiration of one solitary figure with a key to the creative industry. The companies focus is on bringing acting/music/producing talent etc to the attention of the industry.

My main role as assistant was to help Stephen unpack his kit and get it all set up. Being able to physically set up the kit and get a feeling for why Stephen was placing lights where he was and with the various accessories (soft boxes/gels etc) I was able to see his vision come to life. It was a real education in lighting and also communicating effectively with the models as there was over 30 and so maintaining everyone’s interest and attention is a difficult task.

I was elated with the outcome of the day and so happy that I was given the opportunity.

You can check out Stephens work at…

http://www.stephenperry.com

Published in: on November 24, 2008 at 11:12 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://josephwatts.wordpress.com/2008/11/24/photography-assistant-stephen-perry/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment